Wednesday, 1 March 2017

Oldest schools in Malaysia

As a follow-up to my story on Penang's oldest schools, here is my non-exhaustive list of some of the oldest secondary schools in the country which were established before the Second World War and still in existence today. For the sake of comparison, I've also included the schools from Penang. Is there any school that I may have inadvertently left out? Please let me know.
Penang Free School (established 1816)
Malacca High School (established 1826)
St. Thomas’ Secondary School, Kuching (established 1848)
St. Mary's School, Kuching (established 1848)
St. Xavier’s Institution (established 1852)
Convent Light Street (established 1852)

Infant Jesus Convent, Melaka (established 1860)
St. Luke School, Sri Aman (established 1863)
St. Francis Institution, Melaka (established 1880)
St. Teresa’s School, Kuching (established 1881)
St. Mary's School, Sandakan (established 1883)
King Edward VII School, Taiping (established 1883)
St. George’s Girls' School (established 1884)
St. Michael’s School, Sandakan (established 1888)
Treacher Methodist Girls' School, Taiping (established 1889)
St. Michael's School, Penampang (established 1890)
Methodist Boys’ School (established 1891)
Methodist Girls’ School (established 1892)
SM Methodist ACS (Anglo-Chinese School), Klang (established 1893)
Bukit Bintang Girls' Secondary School, Kuala Lumpur (established 1893)
Victoria Institution, Kuala Lumpur (established 1893)
St. Joseph’s School, Kuching (established 1894)
SM Methodist ACS (Anglo-Chinese Boys' School), Ipoh (established 1895)
Methodist Girls' School, Ipoh (established 1895)
Methodist Girls’ School, Kuala Lumpur (established 1896)
Methodist Boys’ School, Kuala Lumpur (established 1897)
Clifford School, Kuala Kangsar (established 1897)
SMK Methodist Nibong Tebal (Anglo-Tamil School) (established 1898)
St. Paul's Institution, Seremban (established 1899)
Convent Bukit Nanas, Kuala Lumpur (established 1899)
Convent Taiping (established 1899)
Horley Methodist Secondary School, Teluk Intan (established 1899)
St. Mark's Secondary School (Butterworth English School) (established 1901)
High School Muar (established 1902)
Sacred Heart School, Sibu (established 1902)
St. Theresa’s Convent, Taiping (established 1903)
SM Methodist ACS (Anglo-Chinese School), Kampar (established 1903)
SMK Methodist ACS (Anglo-Chinese School), Sitiawan (established 1903)
All Saints School, Kota Kinabalu (established 1903)
Chung Hwa Confucian High School (established 1904)
St. John's Institution, Kuala Lumpur (established 1904)
Convent Canossian, Ujong Pasir (established 1905)
Malay College Kuala Kangsar (established 1905)
Confucian Private Secondary School, Kuala Lumpur (established 1906)
Sung Siew Secondary School, Sandakan (established 1907)
Convent Ipoh (established 1907)
Sultan Yussuf School, Batu Gajah (established 1907)
SMK Methodist ACS (Anglo-Chinese School), Parit Buntar (established 1907)
Mahmud School, Raub (established 1908)
Sultan Abdul Hamid College, Alor Star (established 1908)
Kuen Cheng High School, Kuala Lumpur (established 1908)
Anderson School, Ipoh (established 1909)
SMK Methodist ACS (Anglo-Chinese School), Melaka (established 1910)
Port Dickson High School (established ~1910)
Keat Hwa Secondary School, Alor Star (established 1911)
Sulaiman English School, Bentong (established 1912)
St. David’s High School, Melaka (established 1912)
St. Michael's Institution, Ipoh (established 1912)
High School Batu Pahat (established 1914)
English College Johor Bahru (Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar) (established 1914)
Pudu English Girls' School, Kuala Lumpur (established 1914)
SMK Methodist ACS (Anglo-Chinese School), Seremban (established 1915)
St. George's Institution, Taiping (established 1915)
SMK Agama Al-Mashoor (established 1916)
Kuching High School (established 1916)
Chung Ling High School (established 1917)
St. Patrick's Secondary School, Tawau (established 1917)
Yu Hua National Type Secondary School (established 1918)
Jit Sin High School (established 1918)
Penang Chinese Girls High School (established 1919)
SMK St. George (St. Anthony’s School) (Balik Pulau English School) (established ~1919)
Infant Jesus Convent Teluk Intan (established 1919)
Kajang High School (established 1919)
Methodist Girls' School, Klang (established 1924)
Infant Jesus Convent, Johor Bahru (established 1925)
Segamat High School, Segamat (established 1926)
High School Bukit Mertajam (established 1927)
SMJK Union (established 1928)
Convent Klang (established 1928)
King George V School, Seremban (established 1928)
High School Klang (established 1928)
St. Theresa's English School, Sungai Petani (established 1929)
SMK Convent Butterworth (established 1930)
St. Andrew's School, Muar (established 1930)
Kolej Vokasional Batu Lanchang (established 1931)
St. Anthony's School, Telok Intan (established 1931)
Convent Father Barre’s, Sungai Petani (established 1933)
St. Patrick's School, Kulim (established 1933)
SMK Convent Bukit Mertajam (established 1934)
Convent Kulim (established 1934)
Convent St. Nicholas, Alor Star (established 1934)
St. Michael School, Alor Star (established 1934)
SMJK Convent Dato’ Kramat (established 1935)
Phor Tay High School (established 1935)
SMK Agama Al-Irshad (established 1936)
Maktab Sultan Ismail (Ismail English School), Kota Bharu (established 1936)
Convent Ave Maria, Ipoh (established 1938)
Convent Kajang (established 1939)
Kluang High School (established 1939)
Sarikei High School (established 1939)
SMJK San Min, Teluk Intan (established 1939)
Convent St. Joseph’s, Sentul (established 1940)
Convent Sentul, Kuala Lumpur (established 1940)



Where is Sekolah Kebangsaan Ampangan (Seremban)?

It's supposedly established sometime before 1887

SS Quah said...

Is Sekolah Kebangsaan Ampangan (Seremban) a primary or secondary school? If it is a primary school, I cannot list it here.

C K Chong said...

I believe you have left out schools in Johore, i.e. Muar High School, English College, Johore Bahru

SS Quah said...

English College Johore Bahru is listed already. But I shall add in Muar High School too (1902). Thank you for pointing out.

Anonymous said...

Why the heck Kota Kinabalu High School are not in the list? It is because the school was established in 1949?

SS Quah said...

Yes, can't you read properly? I said "before the Second World War" in the very first paragraph.

Anonymous said...

SS Quah, you have provided valuable information. This is really a historical account of education in Malaya. Thank you.

In these time when history gets glossed over or not acknowledged, this information reminds us, particularly to young ones, that Malaya did exist, quality education (albeit in English) was provided to all Malayans. Malaya had some of the best schools, teachers and quality students in SE Asia. I salute all those utterly dedicated and committed teachers (including nuns and brothers) who laid the foundation to a thriving Malaya and Malaysia.